JSON + Regex Monitoring

I’ve been using Distill for a few years but recently wanted to explore the best way to track value changes in APIs. I am trying to monitor flights via JetBlue APIs

Sample API Link: https://jbrest.jetblue.com/bff/bff-service/bestFares/?apiKey=dummy&origin=EWR&destination=SJU&fareType=LOWEST&month=FEBRUARY%202024&tripType=ONE_WAY&adult=2&child=0&infant=0

The idea is to notify when prices for any date drop below 100 or a specific price (e.g., 175). I used regex101 to build the regex expression and the below expression was provided:

/"amount":\b(0*(?:[1-9][0-9]?|175))\b/gim

Per the sample API Link provided above, I should get “3” matches in the text.

Below is how I configured the expression in Distill:

I presume there is a better way to do this so any input is greatly appreciated it. Perhaps I should be using the Monitor “JSON” functionality?

Hey @wilito92,

Can you please test once after replacing the character in your regex with " so that the regex becomes "amount":\b(0*(?:[1-9][0-9]?|175))\b?

Here’s a screenshot from my setup:

The matches regular expression condition tests whether the text matches the expression. It will not update the monitor’s data. You can check the result of the condition in the Monitor’s data view:

If you only want to capture the data matching regex then you can add the Regex Filter in the config:

It will only extract the matching text:

We can create a JSON Monitor too for this scenario with the same URL and the matches regular expression condition.

Let me know if this helps.

1 Like

So the issue I have now is that sometimes values for different dates “change” but those dates are not under $100 but I still get the alert because the dates that did not change are still under $100. So I get a notification because the overall text change but not for a new date that is under $100. This is because I was using the “Text” aspect.